The Cebu City Government through the Cebu City Environment and Natural Resources Office (CCENRO) in cooperation with Habagat celebrated Earth Hour 2019 held at Plaza Independencia recently.

Hundreds of individuals including bikers from different sectors joined in the ceremonial lighting of the 60+ lamps and in switching off the lights for an hour led by CCENRO Head Nida Cabrera, Hon. Jerry Guardo, Asst. City Administrator Veronica Morelos, Sinulog Festival Queen Nicole Borromeo, Joey Baclayon of CCENRO and Eduardo Solana of Habagat.

Aside from the lighting ceremony, the bikers geared up and pedalled around the streets of Metro Cebu.

Habagat showcased the bikes of the participants dubbed as Habagat Earth Hour Night Ride 2019 as part of the program. Various awards were given to some of the bikers which include 68-year old Aurelio Caballero as the Oldest Biker; 2-year old Ethan Nikolay Escuadro as the youngest biker, Archie L. Escuadro for the Bike of the night, and the Montebon Family was adjudged as the Biggest Family Delegation.

Also awarded was the Cebu Friendly Bikers (CFB) with members Jojo Urcel, Kai Dadula, Hadjie Omar P. Lagaro, Geno Aramas, John de Roda, Jonathan Galinggaling, Frederick Coronod, Cecilio Villafuente, Charmine Davarro, Candado Elizaldy, Michael Gonzales, Arthur Paralcueles, Joshua Bantilao, Jennifer Bantilao, Teodoro Banilao and Kylie Taboada.

The winners were given a Plaque of Recognition for the different categories.

Various intermission numbers like singing was performed by Ms. Dianne Cristine Vivar, Anthony Tyrone Ranido and Ednel Minoza as well as the instrumental number performed by the Nestor Archival Scholar Choir. LED Tron Lightrix and Fire Motion Dancers danced which lighted the premises of Plaza Independencia during the one hour period of no lights. (Farlash Acenas, Margie P. Bulado & Tito Basilisco)

55711568 2339365292807366 250716847593226240 o56214461 2339365266140702 4127610412092882944 o