Cebu City Mayor Tomas R. Osmeña led fellow city officials in handing out Special Citation Awards to representatives of the 19 Animal Rabies Free Barangays.

 After the flag ceremony held this morning at Plaza Sugbo, representatives from Paril, Cambinocot, Adlaon, Binaliw and Guba received awards from Mayor Osmeña.

DVMF head Dr. Alice Utlang said they have been providing sufficient information to the constituents on the ill effects of rabies and has recognized the barangays who made extraordinary effort to attain zero rabies cases for the past 5 years. Of the city’s 80 barangays, only 19 were chosen including Suba, Pasil, San Roque, Santo Niño, Pahina San Nicolas, Kalubihan, Binaliw, Agsungot, Guba, Sirao, Taptap, Adlaon, Cambinocot, Mabini, Paril, Lusaran, Tagbao, Tabunan and Sudlon 2.
March of every year, the Cebu City Government thru the Department of Veterinary Medicine and Fisheries (DVMF) celebrates National Rabies Awareness Month.
Highlighting the event is the awarding of barangays who are declared animal rabies free. (By: Greggy P. Senados/ City of Cebu, Public Information Office)