Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP)


“A Highly Professionalized Legislative Institution”


To formulate measures consistent with times, cognizant of the Executive-Legislative Agenda geared towards efficient and effective governance.”


The passage of Republic Act 7160 otherwise known as the Local Government Code of the Philippines in 1991 was meant to institutionalize democracy at the local levels of government.  The seed of a new order wherein the growth of Local Government Units (LGU) is the ultimate priority was institutionalized when the Local Government Code became a law.  The challenge of every LGU like Cebu City is to nurture this seed to ensure that this Code will translate into measurable and successful programs supported by legislation.

Local legislation is now more pronounced than ever before, with the promulgation of RA 7160.  In a broader sense, the professional competence and diligence of Cebu City’s legislators, their staff ably supported by the Office of the SP Secretariat is the key that will unlock the implementation of this law.

The Cebu City Government’s legislative branch in its attempt to fully realize its Vision and Mission intends to optimize its function and is a believer in the power of man to analyze and diagnose its unique situation.  It follows the principle that effective and efficient legislation can pave the way for “Excellence in Local Governance”.

The Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP) is the law making body of Cebu City.  It enacts ordinances, approves resolutions, and appropriates funds for the welfare of the City and its constituents; the Office of the SP Secretary, provides secretariat support to the city council.

The 14th Cebu City Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP) is headed by the Vice-Mayor, Hon. Edgardo C. Labella and capably supported with seventeen (17) councilors; namely Hon. Nendell Hanz L. Abella, Hon. Pastor M. Alcover Jr., Hon. Sisinio M. Andales, Hon. Alvin B. Arcilla, Hon. James Anthony R. Cuenco, Hon. Jose C. Daluz III, Hon. Mary Ann C. de los Santos, Hon. Eugenio F. Gabuya Jr., Hon. Raymond Alvin N. Garcia, Hon. Joel C. Garganera, Hon. Jerry L. Guardo, Hon. Margarita V. Osmeña, Hon. Jocelyn G. Pesquera, Hon. Eduardo R. Rama Jr., Hon. David F. Tumulak, Hon. Joy Augustus G. Young, and Hon. Phillip S. Zafra. The Sangguniang Panlungsod (SP) Secretariat Office is headed by OIC Acting Secretary to the SP Roy Vincent I. Alix. 

The Sangguniang Panlungsod as a legislative body of the City, stands at the center of local governance and through it flows the authority of the governed, thereby empowering the Sanggunian to be able to act decisively in furtherance of social order and human development objectives.

As the legislative branch of the city government, the Sangguniang Panlungsod acts through four (4) basic mechanisms, namely:

  1. Legislative Process – a law making process which authorizes the conduct  of government programs, establishes the functions of the city organization units as well as enhance economic development of the City of Cebu;
  2. Budget Process- which evaluates and authorizes the financial plans and programs submitted by the different executive departments through the Chief Executive;
  3. Oversight Activities – which shall also act as watchdog of the city government properties and guardian of the Public Trust; and
  4. Constituent Service – occurs largely outside of the formal legislative process that provides a useful perspective on public policy formulation.

Powered by Cebu City Government