In 1988, the Cebu City Government established the City Commission for the Urban Poor with Ms. Tessie Fernandez as its 1st Commissioner.

In 1994, CCUP’s name was upgraded into a Division for the Welfare of the Urban Poor (DWUP) through Ordinance 1524. DWUP is the city’s implementing arm on land, housing, basic social services and other urban poor concerns.


A city whose homeless constituents enjoy affordable and adequate housing.


DWUP commits to implement the City’s socialized housing program and provide services towards addressing the tenurial and housing needs of the homeless citizens.

Legal Mandate

City Ordinance No. 1524

  • An ordinance creating the Division for the Welfare of the Urban Poor, formerly the City Commission for Urban Poor under the Office of the Mayor.

Republic Act 7279

  • Otherwise known as Urban Development and Housing Act of 1992.

Philippine Constitution

  • Article XIII (Social Justice Clause) Section 9 and 10